Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Academy of Medical Sciences has elected eight distinguished biomedical and health scientists from the University of Oxford to its prestigious fellowship for the year 2024, including our very own Head of Department, Professor Krina Zondervan, for her outstanding contributions to women’s health.

Professor Krina Zondervan FMedSci, the esteemed Head of Department at the Nuffield Department of Women’s and Reproductive Health, is among eight elected Fellows by The Academy of Medical Sciences. Prof.Zondervan, who also serves as a Professor of Reproductive & Genomic Epidemiology, Co-Director of the Endometriosis Care Centre, and Fellow at St Edmund Hall, has been a pioneering force in advancing research in women’s health.

Expressing her gratitude, Professor Zondervan said "I’m hugely honoured to receive this fellowship, which really celebrates the fantastic contributions of so many team members to our research in women’s health over the years."

Selected from a competitive pool of 365 candidates, the new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony scheduled for Wednesday 18 September 2024. Their Fellowship recognises their extraordinary contributions to the advancement of biomedical and health science, groundbreaking research discoveries, and the translation of these developments into tangible benefits for patients and society at large.

The other newly elected Fellows include:

  • Professor Ivan Ahel FMedSci: E.P.A. Professor of Chemical Pathology at the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology. A member of EMBO, Professor Ahel was awarded the Biochemical Society GlaxoSmithKline Award in 2022.

  • Professor Constantin Coussios FMedSci: Director of the Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Statutory Chair of Biomedical Engineering, and Professorial Fellow of Magdalen College.

  • Professor Catherine Harmer FMedSci: Associate Head of the Department of Psychiatry, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, and Research Fellow at Corpus Christi College.

  • Professor Julian Knight FMedSci: Professor of Genomic Medicine at the Nuffield Department of Medicine, Principal Investigator, Deputy Director of the Centre for Human Genetics, Honorary Consultant Physician, Tutor and Fellow at Merton College, Director of the Medical Sciences Division Graduate School, Genomic Medicine Theme Lead at the NIHR Oxford Biomedical Research Centre, and Research Director of the Central and South NHS Genomic Medicine Service Alliance.

  • Professor Teresa Lambe OBE FMedSci: Calleva Head of Immunology at the Oxford Vaccine Group and Principal Investigator at the Pandemic Sciences Institute. Professor Lambe's research focuses on designing vaccination strategies against outbreak pathogens, including those causing Crimean-Congo haemorrhagic fever, Ebola, Marburg virus, and Coronaviruses. Her group’s work has led to clinical trials for several vaccines.

  • Professor Jane McKeating FMedSciProfessor of Molecular Virology at the Nuffield Department of Medicine.

  • Professor Adam Mead FMedSci: Professor of Haematology at the Radcliffe Department of Medicine, Consultant Physician, and CRUK Senior Cancer Research Fellow. He leads a team at the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine focused on myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPN), blood cancers affecting over 40,000 people in the UK. 

I’m hugely honoured to receive this fellowship, which really celebrates the fantastic contributions of so many team members to our research in women’s health over the years.
- Prof. Krina Zondervan


President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, Professor Andrew Morris PMedSci, warmly welcomed the new Fellows, stating, "It is an honour to welcome these brilliant minds to our Fellowship. Our new Fellows lead pioneering work in biomedical research and are driving remarkable improvements in healthcare. We look forward to working with them, and learning from them, in our quest to foster an open and progressive research environment that improves the health of people everywhere through excellence in medical science."

Our Research Groups