Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Associate Professor at the Nuffield Dept of Women's & Reproductive Health elected Secretary General and recognised for special award.

New Secretary General role

We are proud to announce that Deborah Goberdhan was elected to the position of Secretary General of the International Society of Extracellular Vesicles (ISEV) Executive Board at the ISEV2024 Annual Meeting held in Melbourne, Australia in May.    

Prof. Goberdhan will hold this leadership position within the global research organisation for two years. She will work closely with the newly elected President of ISEV, Professor Ken Witwer and the ISEV Board to drive the Society and its associated journals forward in innovative and constructive directions.

Prof. Goberdhan commented, ‘It is an honour to have this opportunity to serve the extracellular vesicle community as the new Secretary General of ISEV. 

I am committed to supporting ISEV to move forward and make step changes to promote the global development of extracellular vesicle research:  in particular, by encouraging the development of new approaches to address the challenges of the field, strengthening ties with the Student Network on Extracellular Vesicle (SNEV) and developing more robust links with clinicians and industrial partners.’


During the ISEV2024 Annual Meeting, Prof. Goberdhan was also presented with a Special Contribution Award for her part in leading the development of the key consensus guide in the extracellular vesicle field, titled: "Minimal information for studies of extracellular vesicles (MISEV2023): From basic to advanced approaches"

This three-year effort, involving consideration of feedback from over one thousand extracellular vesicle researchers and multiple rounds of revision, was jointly led with Dr Joshua Welsh (National Institutes of Health, USA), Prof. Lorraine O’Driscoll (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland), Dr Clotilde Théry (Institut Curie, France) and Prof. Ken Witwer (Johns Hopkins University, USA), who were also recognised by ISEV Special Contribution Awards.


Photo Caption

From left to right:  Ken Witwer, Deborah Goberdhan, Cherie Blenkiron, David Greening, Clotilde Théry at the ISEV2024 Award Ceremony.           

Our Research Groups